Scroll to content
Sunshine Infant and Nursery School home page

Sunshine Infant and Nursery School

Where little people come to shine


Welcome to our Governors’ section. 

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.


The Governing Body


The School Governors are a group of interested people comprising of parents, teachers, and other school staff, Local Authority and Community representatives and the Headteacher.


Governors have legal duties, powers and responsibilities and are elected to serve for a period of four years. They meet on a regular basis (at least once a term) to receive reports and to make decisions concerning the running of the school. Their functions include:


  • Determining the curriculum
  • Setting standards of pupil behaviour
  • Interviewing and selecting staff
  • Determining the allocation of the school budget


They are currently responsible for presenting an annual School Profile to parents.


The Governing Body consists of:


The Headteacher

1 Staff Governor

2 Parent Governors

1 Local Authority Governor

4 Co-Opted Governors


Parent Governors will currently have (or will have had) a child attending the school and are elected by other parents to serve on the Governing Body in the same capacity and with the same rights as other governors. They perform an important function in using their experience and expertise to encourage a positive interest in the school amongst other parents. The school is always keen to hear from parents who may be interested in becoming Governors.




Miss S Corkindale                                     


Parent Governors                                
Mrs D Moorhouse  
Miss C Trotman 


Local Authority Governors                                           
Miss P Millward 


Staff Governor                               
Mrs N Broadway  


Co-opted Governors                                            
Mr M Christoforou (Chair)                            Mrs M Harris                
Mrs C Sarginson                                                     Mrs L Staniszewski